Joy of joys, I am sick. I felt something coming on Christmas Eve, and it hit for sure this morning. And then after a day of sore throat, vague dizziness and sinus-y ick, I missed my bus home, had to walk through the rain, got drenched by a moron who drove through a huge puddle right next to me, and got yelled at by the Bum of Random Insults. "Stinking shit-piece dumb bitch" or something like that was my homeless-guy fortune cookie this evening. I give him points for being more on target than the time he ranted a soliloquy based around the N-word at my two Asian friends, our Jewish friend, and I. Of course, shortly thereafter he transitioned to shouting about stupid cunts, so he's clearly better at gender than race. I'm not sure whether he actually has Tourette's or is just so drunk and miserable that he spits whatever invective comes to his mind. He's probably not dangerous, but it's still highly unnerving, and I hate running into him. I'm always afraid he'll turn actively violent.
Anyway. Now that you've heard the joys of living near the Ave, I'm going to go curl up in bed. Tonight is my short turnaround night (get off work at 9pm, be back at 9am), and I feel like crap. Also, I apologize for not replying to some of the comments in my prior entry about the job. I probably will get around to getting back to all of you eventually, I'm just kind of dead in the water at the moment. Have been working on the same scene in a fic (Buffy-verse) for the last three nights. Do not want to spend another evening contemplating how the hell to get characters to collectively pull their heads out of their asses and catch on to what's happening. I'm tired of trying to get that to work. And even more tired of trying to figure out where the hell this fic is going... Honestly, if I'm going to spit out a big old AU for something rather trivial, hadn't I better have a good reason for it aside from "but I want to!" An internet full of fic resurrecting other characters says no, but I'm feeling neurotic about this one.
I'm really going to stop blathering, now. Bed.
Anyway. Now that you've heard the joys of living near the Ave, I'm going to go curl up in bed. Tonight is my short turnaround night (get off work at 9pm, be back at 9am), and I feel like crap. Also, I apologize for not replying to some of the comments in my prior entry about the job. I probably will get around to getting back to all of you eventually, I'm just kind of dead in the water at the moment. Have been working on the same scene in a fic (Buffy-verse) for the last three nights. Do not want to spend another evening contemplating how the hell to get characters to collectively pull their heads out of their asses and catch on to what's happening. I'm tired of trying to get that to work. And even more tired of trying to figure out where the hell this fic is going... Honestly, if I'm going to spit out a big old AU for something rather trivial, hadn't I better have a good reason for it aside from "but I want to!" An internet full of fic resurrecting other characters says no, but I'm feeling neurotic about this one.
I'm really going to stop blathering, now. Bed.
no subject
Date: 2006-12-27 08:14 am (UTC)Also, HUGS, I'm sorry you're feeling ill. If you feel up to cooking, I tagged the recipe for the latest batch of Whatever's Handy Chicken Soup that got me through the Martian Death Cold--it's under "Cooking" in both my tags and memories section. I'd make you a pot myself, but I'm afraid they wouldn't let me take it on the plane. *wry grin*
no subject
Date: 2006-12-28 06:06 am (UTC)I wasn't feeling particularly cooking-y last night, and our kitchen was a wreck, so I just made instant miso. But today I mad a huge can of French onion soup and have been drinking tea by the gallon. So hopefully I'm on my way out of this! I'll definitely check out the recipe, though... I love soup recipes. XD *Hugs*
no subject
Date: 2006-12-27 01:18 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2006-12-28 12:42 am (UTC)You'll feel so much better just knowing what to do. And people can sense that. And that positive energy you'd have about you would ward off potential dangers. Seriously!
no subject
Date: 2006-12-28 06:16 am (UTC)And you're both right about the self-defense class. I've always meant/wanted to take one, I just need to get around to doing it. It'd be good for me all around.
no subject
Date: 2006-12-28 06:12 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2006-12-27 01:38 pm (UTC)That man sounds really scary. Is there any way you can avoid him?
Fic: honestly, your fic always brings new insight to the characters, even when it's not AU--even when it's exploring actions we saw on the show. As a reader, I would say that your explorations of the characters are what make your stories worth it--just in terms of point of view, you always bring new understanding to the characters I know & love. So long as you are enjoying writing it, please continue--it will be worth it! For us readers, anyway :)
no subject
Date: 2006-12-28 07:05 am (UTC)He's not around our area all that often - just often enough that all of us know him. Fortunately he's a good ten blocks away from our house, and hangs out on a main road rather than one of the darker and less-frequented side roads. If that were the case I'd switch to waiting for the bus home, forget the inconvenience. :P
You're way too sweet, and I'm so very flattered that you like what I do. And for all that I'm clueless how to respond. Thank you. ;)
no subject
Date: 2006-12-27 06:04 pm (UTC)my two Asian friends, our Jewish friend, and I
Am I one of the Asian ones? Cos I'm pretty sure I was present for that event... XD
no subject
Date: 2006-12-28 05:52 am (UTC)...Oops. Sorry! I was trying to remember who all I'd been with that one time, and Terra and I both remembered that the other was there, and then we thought maybe it was Dora who was with us. Duhhhhhh. I'm good at telling stories, or something. XP