Today, it took me 40 minutes to finish the new Hellboy trade I'd been eagerly awaiting. And another 40 minutes to at least soften the resulting "WTF? And where is the rest of that?!" echoing in my head. That's the problem with comic books, for me - I read them too quickly. 40 minutes later, I'm through with the book, but as far as my brain is concerned I've only really read about four chapters worth of content, so my brain is wondering where the hell the next four (or ten...) chapters are and why we don't get them right now damn it.
Besides, this was a seriously weird one with some seriously huge revelations. So, you know. Coping must be done. It was awesome. But coping must be done, and now I am feeling somewhat bereft and abandoned by it having been such a quick read, if that makes sense.
So, to try to shut up my inner instant-gratification-whore, I thought I might go flip through some of my older stuff, just for kicks. At which point I remembered how much I like Ryan Sook's style for BPRD, and how much I hate Guy Davis'... which is a pity given it's Guy Davis who continued the series.
There is no fanfic left in this universe that I have not read and which is not of a pairing that gives me hives. And of course my own fic is still stalled. As is my original stuff. Wooooo. I'm going to go stare at one or the other and try to make one or the other of them go somewhere.
Besides, this was a seriously weird one with some seriously huge revelations. So, you know. Coping must be done. It was awesome. But coping must be done, and now I am feeling somewhat bereft and abandoned by it having been such a quick read, if that makes sense.
So, to try to shut up my inner instant-gratification-whore, I thought I might go flip through some of my older stuff, just for kicks. At which point I remembered how much I like Ryan Sook's style for BPRD, and how much I hate Guy Davis'... which is a pity given it's Guy Davis who continued the series.
There is no fanfic left in this universe that I have not read and which is not of a pairing that gives me hives. And of course my own fic is still stalled. As is my original stuff. Wooooo. I'm going to go stare at one or the other and try to make one or the other of them go somewhere.
no subject
Date: 2010-03-15 03:21 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2010-03-15 03:27 am (UTC)He hasn't done a whole lot of Hellboy - just one issue of the BPRD comics - the first one, The Hollow Earth - but it was really really good, and very pretty. After that, it's hard to go on with Guy Davis, whose art... to me, makes everyone sort of look like drunken monkeys. He has no subtlety, no crisp lines and prettiness. And he draws everyone's mouths too wide, which looks particularly horrible on the few women in the series. :P
no subject
Date: 2010-03-15 09:42 am (UTC)I need to go back and pick up some BPRD trades. I stopped getting the comics oh probably a year or more ago,once I moved home, as it was too much of a pain to get downtown to the comic shop (that and I had no income at the time).
I stopped just around the point where the stuff with Liz and the mysterious stranger dude was starting to pick up (the last thing I remember was the underground creatures from Hollow Earth coming back?)
no subject
Date: 2010-03-15 02:48 pm (UTC)...Insert commentary here about how they had to start with the pretty guys and then move to someone I hate, and how this series could probably get any comic artist they wanted, and how the hell did win an Eisner, anyway? Am I really that out of touch with this genre, that I have gut-hate for someone who wins awards?
I'm all out of order with the BPRD, honestly (and spoiled like whoa, so don't worry) - I have the first two (Hollow Earth and The Soul of Venice or something like that)... and then I skipped ahead and got #8, because it was there at my local store and I knew it had something to do with Abe's backstory and... and I have impulse problems when it comes to these things, apparently. I mean to go back and start going in order. Once I get over the idea of paying $17.99 for art I don't like.