what the HECK?
Oct. 11th, 2010 02:29 pmBSG up to the end of season 2.5 ("Lay Down Your Burdens" or something like that, parts 1 and 2).
Downloaded
Totally flipping amazing. I mean, really, unbelievably good, particularly after a 4-episode run of episodes on a fine scale of "meh" to "bleh." I wanted to hug this episode. I wanted to snuggle it. I wanted to fall on my knees and worship it, although "it" in that case might mean "Lucy Lawless, Tricia Helfer and Grace Parks, who are collectively amazing." ♥
Caprica!Six has a head!Gaius! ♥ How awesome is that? (And how awesome was it that for the second before we realized no one else could see him, The Boy and I were both going OH MY GOD, GAIUS IS A CYLON?" Because as hilariously wrong as that would be (why bother having Six go through all that if he was a sleeper agent or something?), my brain just couldn't parse it at first. And then I laughed a lot, because the balance of each of them having the other in their head is just too perfect.)
See later for a related freak-out.
Oh, and I genuinely believed that they'd killed Sharon and Helo's baby for a little bit. Like, until they showed the adoptive mom. AUGH.
Lay Down Your Burdens, pt 1 & 2
Holy crap. Crap crap crap crap crap. So, let's see! Tyrol's having recurring dreams about killing himself because he's panicking that he might be a Cylon just like Boomer was, and he nearly killed Callie because she woke him up in the middle of it, and then they send in I swear to god the worst military chaplain ever, who is hilarious and adorable and bizarre, and, yes, when Tyrol asked him "How do you know I'm not a Cylon?" and he said "Because I'm a Cylon and I haven't seen you at the meetings," I kind of went "HEY, THAT'D BE FUNNY," because, ha, of course.
AND THEN HE WAS. HE WAS A FUCKING CYLON.
Seriously, what is it with the Cylons? They're all the most awesome people EVER! Except Doral, who is weirdly boring. He reminds me of someone that Jeffrey Combs should have played, in a way, except... less smarmy? Besides, if Jeffrey Combs had played him then we would have known from the first nanosecond that he was going to be at least a little bit evil. ANYWAY. That guy shows up on Caprica with the resistance people and I swear, The Boy and I both actually gasped, and I started screaming and pointing at the TV (like, what, Starbuck and Helo can hear me?) going "OH MY GOD HE'S A CYLON! CYLON!!! AAAAAAAAH!!" or something very like all that. AND THEN THERE'RE JUST, WHAT, BACK ON GALACTICA? ALL OF A SUDDEN? And then Tyrol goes nuts and attacks the guy, and Sharon's all "WHATEVER, I DIDN'T WANT TO TELL YOU, OUR BABY IS DEAD AND I HATE YOU NOW" at Helo, and I wanted to cry, because every damned thing that's bad happens to Helo and nobody fucking cares. Not even Sharon. And Starbuck's too busy with her little jock (granted, they are awfully cute, but that was about the only thing keeping me from wanting to strangle both of them), and Lee is all NOEZ, THAT'S MAH STARBUCK, and OH MY GOD, he needs to just MAKE UP HIS DAMNED MIND ALREADY. AUGH.
And then, suddenly, voter fraud! I have to say, I felt very betrayed that Roslin knew about it. I trusted that she wouldn't be involved! I don't know why, but I did! And for a minute there I genuinely thought Tigh was going to kill Gaeta or knock him out or something, and then, wtf, Adama's just like "oh, what's a little voter fraud between friends?" WTF, DADDY ADAMA. When the hell will you realize that your XO is a problem?
AND THEN - ONE YEAR LATER?! What. What. WHAT?!
And my lunch is over! And... and... WTF!!!
....we need to buy season 3, now. o_O
Downloaded
Totally flipping amazing. I mean, really, unbelievably good, particularly after a 4-episode run of episodes on a fine scale of "meh" to "bleh." I wanted to hug this episode. I wanted to snuggle it. I wanted to fall on my knees and worship it, although "it" in that case might mean "Lucy Lawless, Tricia Helfer and Grace Parks, who are collectively amazing." ♥
Caprica!Six has a head!Gaius! ♥ How awesome is that? (And how awesome was it that for the second before we realized no one else could see him, The Boy and I were both going OH MY GOD, GAIUS IS A CYLON?" Because as hilariously wrong as that would be (why bother having Six go through all that if he was a sleeper agent or something?), my brain just couldn't parse it at first. And then I laughed a lot, because the balance of each of them having the other in their head is just too perfect.)
See later for a related freak-out.
Oh, and I genuinely believed that they'd killed Sharon and Helo's baby for a little bit. Like, until they showed the adoptive mom. AUGH.
Lay Down Your Burdens, pt 1 & 2
Holy crap. Crap crap crap crap crap. So, let's see! Tyrol's having recurring dreams about killing himself because he's panicking that he might be a Cylon just like Boomer was, and he nearly killed Callie because she woke him up in the middle of it, and then they send in I swear to god the worst military chaplain ever, who is hilarious and adorable and bizarre, and, yes, when Tyrol asked him "How do you know I'm not a Cylon?" and he said "Because I'm a Cylon and I haven't seen you at the meetings," I kind of went "HEY, THAT'D BE FUNNY," because, ha, of course.
AND THEN HE WAS. HE WAS A FUCKING CYLON.
Seriously, what is it with the Cylons? They're all the most awesome people EVER! Except Doral, who is weirdly boring. He reminds me of someone that Jeffrey Combs should have played, in a way, except... less smarmy? Besides, if Jeffrey Combs had played him then we would have known from the first nanosecond that he was going to be at least a little bit evil. ANYWAY. That guy shows up on Caprica with the resistance people and I swear, The Boy and I both actually gasped, and I started screaming and pointing at the TV (like, what, Starbuck and Helo can hear me?) going "OH MY GOD HE'S A CYLON! CYLON!!! AAAAAAAAH!!" or something very like all that. AND THEN THERE'RE JUST, WHAT, BACK ON GALACTICA? ALL OF A SUDDEN? And then Tyrol goes nuts and attacks the guy, and Sharon's all "WHATEVER, I DIDN'T WANT TO TELL YOU, OUR BABY IS DEAD AND I HATE YOU NOW" at Helo, and I wanted to cry, because every damned thing that's bad happens to Helo and nobody fucking cares. Not even Sharon. And Starbuck's too busy with her little jock (granted, they are awfully cute, but that was about the only thing keeping me from wanting to strangle both of them), and Lee is all NOEZ, THAT'S MAH STARBUCK, and OH MY GOD, he needs to just MAKE UP HIS DAMNED MIND ALREADY. AUGH.
And then, suddenly, voter fraud! I have to say, I felt very betrayed that Roslin knew about it. I trusted that she wouldn't be involved! I don't know why, but I did! And for a minute there I genuinely thought Tigh was going to kill Gaeta or knock him out or something, and then, wtf, Adama's just like "oh, what's a little voter fraud between friends?" WTF, DADDY ADAMA. When the hell will you realize that your XO is a problem?
AND THEN - ONE YEAR LATER?! What. What. WHAT?!
And my lunch is over! And... and... WTF!!!
....we need to buy season 3, now. o_O
no subject
Date: 2010-10-11 09:51 pm (UTC)Caprica!Six has a head!Gaius! That is still one of my favorite things about the show. THEY ARE BOTH CRAZY. <3
Oh the worst military chaplain ever who is a Cylon! I love your reaction, because it was basically mine; I saw him and I was like "I WANT HIM TO BE A CYLON! CAN HE BE ONE?" And then he was, in fact, One! Although friends call him Cavil. Or, well, I don't know if he has friends. Still.
Seriously, what is it with the Cylons? They're all the most awesome people EVER! Except Doral, who is weirdly boring.
CYLONS ARE GREAT. :D Also, I even like Doral a little, not because he's interesting but because in The Plan (s1&2 from the Cylon's POV! but not very good, and also spoilery for all the seasons) they sort of ... make fun of how boring Doral is? The poor Five model has no imagination. In fact, there's this excellent scene in which a Cavil has a bunch of Twos and Fives and Sixes and Eights trying (badly) to help him sabotage the fleet, and there's something like the following exchange:
CAVIL. Another one of you has been seen before, Five, so we're going to have to disguise you somehow.
DORAL. I am in disguise. My jacket.
CAVIL. Your jacket.
DORAL. His jacket was burgundy. Mine's teal.
A lot of it is in the delivery, but -- man, I shrieked with laughter, and I mostly just want to squeeze him. Stupid, stupid Doral.
no subject
Date: 2010-10-11 09:59 pm (UTC)And then he was, in fact, One! Although friends call him Cavil.
You have just won a bet for me, thank you! ♥ I told The Boy that he was probably One or Two, and he said no he must be Twelve. Yay!
DORAL. I am in disguise. My jacket.
CAVIL. Your jacket.
DORAL. His jacket was burgundy. Mine's teal.
Oh, bless. That is just unbelievably cute. See, what I mean? Stupid evil Toasters, they're all making me love them! ♥♥♥
I need more icons for this show, but I'm afraid to go looking because of the Dreaded Spoilers. :(
no subject
Date: 2010-10-11 10:03 pm (UTC)Aha! Here is a Numerical Guide to Cylons You Know:
One - Cavil the priest
Two - Leoben, Kara's stalker
Three - D'Anna, Lucy Lawless
Four - Simon the Caprican doctor
Five - Doral
Six - ...well, Six :D
Eight - Boomer/Sharon/&c
THE REST WILL FOLLOW. :D I have a theory that they're numbered according to manufacturing order, at least judging by their default appearance age. Or something. Who knows!
Do you have any particular characters you want icons of? I could go look and spoiler-screen for you, if you like!
no subject
Date: 2010-10-11 10:07 pm (UTC)That is a very helpful list, thank you! ♥
As for icons... sheesh, everything? Mostly Starbuck, Boomer/Sharon, Six, and Helo, I suppose. Goodness only knows why, but they've tended to be the main characters I've attached most to.
no subject
Date: 2010-10-11 10:18 pm (UTC)Okay, a quick icon roundup, spoiler-free!
Kara, Sharon, Six, bottom half of the post.
Colonial Day icons
Roslin, Kara, Sharon
Home part 1 icons
If you want more I can keep looking, but I think that's a decent selection! Sorry for the lack of Helo. :)
no subject
Date: 2010-10-12 03:37 am (UTC)Yay!!! Thank you, that's absolutely plenty to be getting on with, I was just feeling sad about always using my Starbuck icon. ♥
no subject
Date: 2010-10-11 09:56 pm (UTC)That season finale was certainly a kicker. I seem to remember going O.O for much of the night it aired. Oh, Roslin and Adama, aren't you pissed you didn't manage to steal the election? (I think I remember being shocked that Roslin wanted to steal it, but now I'm thinking, "Of course she was going to steal it if Baltar even came close to winning!" I was surprised that Adama wasn't more pissed off about it, given that he, you know, JAILED HER the season before...)
And Cavil! After Xenabot, Cavil is my very favorite Cylon. He's so bitter! And an atheist, which they really need to combat some of the crazy! (Not that he's not just as crazy in his own way...)
On the other hand, now we start the Love Quadrangle of DOOOOOM that nearly ruined the show for me. I've blocked enough of it out of my mind that I can't really remember when various things happened, but I do know that starting now, I pretty much wanted Lee and Kara off my screen every time they came on for a long, long time. UGH.
I had sorta shipped Tyrol and Callie way back when, and the part of me that shipped them warred heavily with the larger part of me that was screaming about how he'd sort you, you know, BEATEN HER UP, and then they were married with a kid, and WTF? Oh, Callie. Callie got continually screwed over on this show.
But head!Gaius = awesome. Hehehehe. I loved, loved, loved when he first showed up.
no subject
Date: 2010-10-11 10:17 pm (UTC)Me too, but then he's never trusted Gaius farther than he could throw him, so I think that might be a factor.
On the other hand, now we start the Love Quadrangle of DOOOOOM that nearly ruined the show for me.
So it limits itself to "quadrangle" at some point, then? :P Because at the moment it feels more like a love dodecahedron. I was trying to explain why Lee and Starbuck are so angsty the other day, and I felt like I needed a fricking flow-chart. It's a damned good thing they're cute.
no subject
Date: 2010-10-11 11:24 pm (UTC)Mmm, this is true. Gaius is a bit of a spoiler.
So it limits itself to "quadrangle" at some point, then?
Hahaha! Come to think of it, it is more like a love polygon with a variable number of sides. But the parts I hated the most were when it was a square.
no subject
Date: 2010-10-12 02:42 am (UTC)I loved the leap forward. I thought it was such a brilliant thing to do, to just skip the part of the story that was necessary but wasn't particularly interesting. And it ends up giving the premiere a very cool in medias res feeling.
Downloaded is so so awesome. I watched it like four times that weekend it aired. I adore Caprica and her head-Gaius. So cute. Plus, Downloaded also has the amazing line: "If I wanted to throw a baby out an airlock, I'd say so." IF I WANTED TO THROW A BABY OUT AN AIRLOCK, I'D SAY SO! Amazing.
Poor Roslin. Oh, the way it absolutely broke her heart to confess her part in the voting fraud, and yet still know that she felt she'd done the right thing. And, you know, it's kind of a hard point to argue. Would the Cylons have still caught up with them if Baltar hadn't been president? Would things have been any better, or might there have been an even worse eventuality they escaped? It's hard to say, but for Roslin to watch those Centurions start marching through that sad little tent city, knowing that they were on that planet because Baltar put them there. (And that's not even knowing that the Cylons only found them in the first place because Gina blew herself and Cloud Nine up, and Gina only was able to do that because Baltar gave her the warhead, and he was the one to let her escape the Pegasus in the first place! Oh, Baltar, I love you, but you screwed over humanity so much and so many times.)
no subject
Date: 2010-10-12 03:29 am (UTC)IF I WANTED TO THROW A BABY OUT AN AIRLOCK, I'D SAY SO! Amazing.
YES. I love (and I can't believe I'm saying this) that with Roslin, it's not "I would never do that!" It's "if I wanted to do that, I would say so." !!! There are not words in the English language for how bad-ass that woman is. There just aren't. Do you know why? Because she hasn't existed long enough for anyone to make them up to describe her yet. ♥
Oh, Baltar, I love you, but you screwed over humanity so much and so many times.
It really is crazy, isn't it? He's like a one man humanity-screwing-over machine at this point, and I say that with the total awareness that there are at least twelve other good contenders for that title, none of whom have actually done as much damage, despite waging a fucking genocidal war against us as Gaius Baltar! If Gaius Baltar had been on B5, the Minbari wouldn't have had a chance to surrender. They'd try, but he'd have already somehow blown the whole planet and fleet up by accident or sheer fuckwittery. It'd be like "No, wait, we changed our... oh. Crap."
...And then Valen wouldn't exist anymore. Which would kind of be an interesting causality loop.
MY POINT IS: Gaius! Single-handedly fucking over the human race one idiotic action at a time, while looking like a terrified puppy every time something bad happens! I love it! How often is the author of the destruction of the Human race just that pathetic? ♥
no subject
Date: 2010-10-12 01:48 pm (UTC)But yeah, Downloaded was one of my favourite episodes, and head!Baltar was wonderful. I also liked real!Baltar in the finale, he's trying so hard to be good despite himself.
no subject
Date: 2010-10-12 02:40 pm (UTC)Downloaded was amazing! And Gaius... oh, Gaius. He's such a moron, in that "too smart for his own good" kind of way. He tries! But his worst nature just keeps getting in the way of his efforts.