rivendellrose: (Burnham)
[personal profile] rivendellrose
A few brief and spoilery thoughts on this episode under the cut.



First off, I get that they're trying to be welcoming to people who both haven't seen TOS and who HAVE seen it and want Disco to be more like it, but... boy could I have done without the several-minute recap of "The Cage," here. It was unnecessary, and, honestly, I felt like it was really awkward. That said, it did make clear exactly how much Anson Mount looks like Jeffrey Hunter, so that was kind of interesting.

Gonna be honest, also, and say that I was not thrilled to see Vina again. She's better in this than she was in "The Cage," but, I mean, eh. I ought to appreciate the chance for them to slightly rehabilitate a really sexist character, but... I'm not sure this really did that, and also I just mostly would rather pretend that large swathes of TOS didn't happen, because that's my way of handling questionable past canon. Ah well, that's just me.

Is there only one rock quarry near Toronto? Because I'm 99.5% sure that's the same quarry that stood in for the rebel planet in the Mirror Universe last year. Slightly different angle on it, though, so that's nice.

Michael's OMG HORRIBLE THING SHE DID TO SPOCK turned out to be... satisfyingly anticlimactic. Spock's still being a melodramatic shit about it all these years later, of course, because he is a melodramatic shit about things, but come on. I was an an only child, but a lot of people I know had siblings, and pretty much all of them said something that bad or worse to their sibling(s) when they were a kid, and without the impetus of trying to get them to stay behind when they were running away from their family for their family's own safety from terrorists. I get that in Spock's case it's a bit more gut-wrenching because he was already an outcast, but, come on, dude. Get the fuck over it.

Michael asking if Spock really thought the beard was working for him was precious and wonderful.

Georgiou is doing a fabulous job of making Leland look like an idiot to the higher-ups at Section 31, and clearly enjoying every minute of his slow-motion downfall. I imagine taking people out like this is nostalgic for her -- it makes her feel young again!

Meanwhile, Paul and Hugh are not enjoying much of anything. I'm gonna be honest and say that I think Hugh is being a bit of a jackass about all of this and I hope he gets over himself soon and, I don't know, quits acting like he's furious with everyone (most of all his boyfriend) for saving his life. Screw off, man, seriously. You get a certain amount of free passes for the whole "Oh no, I got killed and spent howevermany months being undead in the mycelial network!" thing, but you are burning through them awfully quickly and completely failing at the same time to remind me of pretty much any of your redeeming features. I'm not even going to complain about intentionally starting a fight with Ash, because that makes sense, but pissing all over Paul for loving you and being happy that you're back and trying to help you get comfortable again... is really not a good look.

Also, how much must Ash have been holding back in order to get his ass handed to him by Culber after he survived six months or whatever on Qo'noS? Even back when he was just Ash Tyler, Starfleet Lieutenant, he was in goddamned security.

On the subject of Ash... oh dear. Of course Airiam would set him up to take the fall for her secret transmissions, and of course everyone would believe it because a) Section 31, and b) secret Klingon. Fortunately Pike figured it out before the end of the episode, because otherwise I could only say to him... buddy. I know you don't know this yet, but Ash Tyler isn't actually bright enough to pull something like this off. He's a good pilot and a good fighter, and he's extremely loyal to Burnham... and he's pretty. And that's about it. (I mean, come on -- the guy doesn't even know what a cephalopod is!)

Next week: Airiam goes off the rails, and it looks like we're going to attack Section 31's base of operations? That... seems like a strange choice, but okay I guess!

Date: 2019-03-08 10:41 pm (UTC)
lizbee: (LoK: Lin (sulking because family))
From: [personal profile] lizbee
(I mean, come on -- the guy doesn't even know what a cephalopod is!)

And is therefore dead to me.

Profile

rivendellrose: (Default)
rivendellrose

January 2026

S M T W T F S
     123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Most Popular Tags

Page Summary

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 29th, 2026 10:45 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios