rivendellrose: (Default)
[personal profile] rivendellrose
Last night, I finally saw Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire.

I enjoyed it, for the most part, although my desire to duct-tape Emma Watson's mouth shut in order to prevent further abuse to the fine art of acting has increased about ten-fold. That girl is bad. Melodrama liek whoa. Did the director tell her to be on PMS the whole movie? That's my only potential explanation.



First off... I would just like to say that Ralph Fiennes was totally delightful as Voldemort. Massive love to him for pulling off that part. Massive love, also, to what few Weasleys they actually decided to show, especially to the twins and Ron for being adorable and funny and (somewhat awkwardly) rather attractive. I boo and hiss in the general direction of the producers, however, for not even showing Bill or Charlie. Alas.

Dan Radcliffe and the rest of the cast were very good, in general, although I do wonder about Dumbledore. He seemed to be really... vacant, in this movie. I half expected a secret little shot of him popping valium or something. And speaking of things that most people wouldn't consider appropriate for a children's movie, what the fuck was up with the Priori Incantatem scene? I know it was not just my brain thinking that their connected wands were shooting splooge all over the place.

Snape. Oh, Snape. I loved the one little scene in the potions classroom, but the rest was kind of... soft. Where was the venom? Were they actively working on making him less threatening than usual? Because that's what it came across as. Poor Alan had barely anything to do, especially in comparison to Moody, who, to my mind, seemed a bit over-utilized. Yes, I realize he's important, but still. He kind of took over the movie, and I was not thrilled. And could they have shown Flitwick in a few more scenes, possibly? He was always in the background! McGonagall got a couple of good little bits in, happily, as did Neville (yay!) and even Ginny, which is somewhat unusual. My only comment on the Yule Ball scene is that no one is supposed to really recognize her straight off. And... you know... that it's supposed to be a BIG CHANGE. Not "ohmigod, she's... um.... wearing glitter?"

I liked Fleur. She looked like my mental image of young-Narcissa, which kind of messed me up a little, but I did genuinely like her. And Gabrielle, too. Viktor... ah, Viktor. I loved him so much in the book, but for some reason they decided to make him an idiot. Was I wrong in my impression that in the book he'd been an intelligent young man? Maybe that was me being overly optimistic that Rowling might occasionally portray a male character with some interest in academics. :P Anyway, he was cute, and it wasn't his fault that the scriptwriter fucked with his character. Cedric was... okay, honestly, I'd been very much bemused by everybody going on about how cute he was. From looking at pictures, I didn't get it. Seeing him smile.... okay, I get it. He's still not the type I swoon insanely over (*coughs*Christian Coulson*coughs*), but he's very pretty.

Igor was very cool. The Dark Mark was very cool. Madame Maxine looked like a transvestite. I kept getting Rocky Horror flashbacks and expecting a rendition of "Giant Transvestite." It was surreal.

The dragons were awesome, and I loved the Durmstrang ship. Rita Skeeter was horrifically delightful, although my brain sort of wanted to shatter with her dragging Harry into the "cozy" broom-closet for their "interview." Like Harry doesn't have enough problems without being molested by a scary journalist lady. Pacing was maddening, too much time was spent on showing the OMG FIERY TERROR of the Quidditch Cup attack, and the DE = KKK moment was kind of "blaaaaah," IMHO. I did, however, much enjoy the graveyard scene. Especially Lucius, who is such a leet ninja with his shiny blond hair hanging beneath his hood. Real subtle, there, bub. 'Cause nobody would ever recognize that.

Date: 2006-01-08 12:16 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] ciara-belle.livejournal.com
I want the Death Eaters to be threatening. And Ralphedemort was definitely creepy. But Lucius is just....

Really, the Dark Lord could use a few more competant minions. Less sneering, more terrorizing.

Date: 2006-01-08 04:04 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] narsilion.livejournal.com
Ralphedemort! *snorts*

Date: 2006-01-08 07:31 am (UTC)
ext_18428: (tenth doctor)
From: [identity profile] rivendellrose.livejournal.com
Lucius is a moron. That's honestly what I like about him - he thinks he's such a cool, cultured villain, but he's really a complete idiot. Snape is actually the best person on the DE's side, I think, and I will never be convinced that he's actually loyal to Voldemort.

So, yes, I wish he had better minions, too. But, honestly - we're talking about the Ultimate Evil who is consistently having his ass handed to him by a bunch of teenagers. He's like a Scooby Doo protagonist. ;)

Date: 2006-01-08 12:24 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] theladyfeylene.livejournal.com
'Giant Transvestite' is awesome. I want that to be a song now.

Date: 2006-01-08 07:31 am (UTC)
ext_18428: (Poke it)
From: [identity profile] rivendellrose.livejournal.com
I do, too. I'm sort of picturing it to the tune of the Potter Pals "Half Giant" song.

Date: 2006-01-08 01:18 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] differedfrom.livejournal.com
I totally agree about Emma Watson, but I think your explanation may be the right one...I think she's supposed to be a bit hormonal in this one, and she sure as hell acted it. I guess we'll see how she shapes up for the next one.

Date: 2006-01-08 07:33 am (UTC)
ext_18428: (tenth doctor)
From: [identity profile] rivendellrose.livejournal.com
I'm not convinced that it was directoral. The only time I liked her acting was when she was tiny and cute and didn't know any better. Besides, tiny-Hermione is meant to be over-the-top and irritating.

I hope she gets better. I'm just not holding my breath.

Date: 2006-01-08 04:04 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] narsilion.livejournal.com
Maybe we'll find an easter egg in the DVD when it comes out of Dumbledore popping his valium. I know it is in there somewhere, he
was just WAY to vacant. Yeah, I also had the "Sweet Transvestite"
thoughts the first time I saw it when I saw Madame Maxine.
And when Cedric smiles, Uhmmmmm...well, yup. Ralph was wonderful, but I kept wondering how the hell he was breathing through those tiny slits? I thought Moody was mostly annoying. I actually liked the DE scenes. But mostly, I'll be renting the DVD to look for the valium popping DD.

Date: 2006-01-08 07:35 am (UTC)
ext_18428: (What?)
From: [identity profile] rivendellrose.livejournal.com
It totally has to be in the deleted scenes. He was too upset and twitchy to be on pot, so Valium is the only answer.

I wasn't thrilled with Moody, either, but I didn't like him all that much in the books, either, so... no big change. Didn't dislike him too much, didn't like him too much... just kind of "blah, go away, where's Lupin?" And yes - most of the DE scenes were great, it was just that first one that made me go "urgh." Too much melodrama in that kind of movie makes me feel sort of "I refuse to enjoy this just to spite you" at the director.

Date: 2006-01-10 01:23 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] rfienneslover.livejournal.com
Ralph's nose was still there. They just erased it and replace it with those CGI snake nostrils.

Date: 2006-01-10 04:04 am (UTC)
ext_18428: (Poke it)
From: [identity profile] rivendellrose.livejournal.com
That explains it, then! I admit, I'm behind the times when it comes to the latest in SFX - I thought it was quite the clever job with latex makeup!

Date: 2006-01-08 04:51 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] corsiva.livejournal.com
Especially Lucius, who is such a leet ninja with his shiny blond hair hanging beneath his hood. Real subtle, there, bub. 'Cause nobody would ever recognize that.

*cracks up*

That's exactly what I kept thinking.

Date: 2006-01-08 08:14 pm (UTC)
ext_18428: (Poke it)
From: [identity profile] rivendellrose.livejournal.com
He's such a moron, gods bless him. I just couldn't get all the times in the game when he did totally stupid shit out of my head, at that point in the movie. ♥

Profile

rivendellrose: (Default)
rivendellrose

January 2026

S M T W T F S
     123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 29th, 2026 06:52 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios