rivendellrose: (marcus' diagram)
[personal profile] rivendellrose
At work early (8:30) for an interview. Candidate has not shown, but I have a raspberry scone and a nectarine, so I really don't care much. Edited because it looks like the presentation problem will work out on its own.

Anyway, because I'm bored...

1) What TV show(s) do you find yourself watching the most?
-Buffy the Vampire Slayer
-Babylon 5
-bit of Ouran Host Club, though I've never seen a full episode
-Must watch Firefly again soon!!!

2) What if any TV shows do you own on DVD?
-Deep Space Nine, season 6
-Babylon 5, season 4
-FIREFLY. Because I'm dumb. Apparently I... don't think of Firefly as a TV show? It honestly slipped my mind, which is really really weird.

3) Can you name your favorite TV show theme song (I would encourage you to make a phone post and sing it to us)?
Oh boy... I could whistle the X-Files theme if you'd like? Except I'm not making a phone post for that. Fortunately, aside from "Princes of the Universe," everything else I can think of is instrumental.

Update: I AM STUPID. Firefly, of course! ...I'm still not making a phone post, though. XD

4) Have you ever been on TV and if so for what?
Theoretically, I was on Northwest Afternoon last summer, for my job at the museum - the show is desperate for live studio audiences, so if you get a big enough group together they'll give you a little on-air spot of publicity, and I was (somewhat randomly, I suspect) chosen as part of the group to go over.

5) What is your favorite YouTube video (feel free to post a link)?
Kendra and Claire showed me a wonderful classic burlesque routine done for "America's Got Talent." The video itself was iffy (kept cutting back to the judges' reactions, sigh) but the dancer was awesome. Oh, and there's always the Live-Action Godzilla video that Terra showed me, from the same show... wow. Trust me, it sounds dumb, but... wow.

I started this entry at 8:30. I've gotten a reprieve on the blurb thing, but still no interview candidate. *Sighs* Honestly... and then people go and bitch about the job market?

Update: Candidate showed up at 8:55. I'm impressed. *Rolls eyes*

Edit: Gacked from [livejournal.com profile] maho_kiwi, and apparently I'm stupid and it's supposed to be a 2-word meme. I don't know if I have the wherewithal to fix that, at the moment. Ye gods I'm brainless today. *Dies*

1. When was the last time you shaved?
Yesterday.

2. Explain what ended your last relationship.
...Does the fact that I'm struggling to remember what my last actual relationship was give an indication? I guess it was T, and it ended because the spark just wasn't there for me, and I was kind of... messed up in the head about relationships at that time. Still am, come to that, but it's gotten a lot better.

3. What were you doing this morning at 8 a.m.?
I was on the bus, reading Trapped by Gardner, and listening to my mp3 player.

4. What were you doing 15 minutes ago?
Wondering where the heck the candidate was.

5. Are you any good at math?
Not particularly, no. I'm not awful, but it's probably my worst subject.

6. Your prom night?
Fairly blah. Most of my friends were with people they were totally agog over, and I was on my second prom with a friend who kind of maybe had a crush on me.

7. Do you have any famous ancestors?
Not particularly. I'm related to the guy who invented Jiffy Pop, though, and also the guy who invented the Atari joystick. And it's conceivable that I'm descended from the Stuart line of England, but I find that unlikely in the extreme. It's a neat thought, though. Oh, and on the other side I'm descended from rather wealthy plantation owners in Virginia. Not famous, but well-documented and a bit disturbing.

8. Have you had to take a loan out for school?
Yup. One year's worth.

9. Do you know the words to the song on your MySpace profile?
...moving on.

10. Last thing received in the mail?
A birthday card. From my bank. My birthday isn't for another two weeks.

11. How many different beverages have you had today?
Ginger green tea. 1.

12. Do you ever leave messages on people's answering machine?
Yeah. But I hate it.

13. Who did you lose your CONCERT virginity to?
Now we're judging concert virginity, too? Fine. Some symphony group at Benaroya hall. Aside from school stuff, that's pretty much all the concerts I've been to.

14. Do you draw your name in the sand when you go to the beach?
Nah. I draw spirals and stuff, though.

15. What's the most painful dental procedure you've had?
Tongue cradle. Supposed to be in for only a few years, ended up staying in so long it was coming apart when they took it out. Bastards wanted it in til the last of my baby teeth had gone. I still have a scar on the roof of my mouth.

16. What is out your back door?
A yard! This is still novel to us, after clearing out tons of morning glory and blackberries. Also, a very yummy plum tree.

17. Any plans for Friday night?
I really want to make it to Contra this week.

18. Do you like what the ocean does to your hair?
Until I see it in a mirror, yes.

19. Have you ever received one of those big tins of 3 different popcorns?
No, but we used to get just the carmel kind from one of my aunts.

20. Have you ever been to a planetarium?
I used to work at a science museum. It'd be pretty sad if I hadn't.

21. Do you re-use towels after you shower?
You mean there are actually people in this world with enough towels to use each one once? And do they spend their whole lives doing laundry, or just have maids?

22. Some things you are excited about?
The weekend, getting my diplomas (finally!), actually making cum laude (it didn't count til my dad read it off to me over the phone), my birthday and Halloween coming up.

23. What is your favorite flavor of JELLO?
Watermelon. It just... makes sense.

24. Describe your keychain(s)?
1 Albertsons tag (useless, as the Albertsons has closed), 1 PetCo tag, a heavy bronze-ish UW thing with the school seal on the back (I love that seal...), and my Serenity keychain. Now with added sticky thing from a book of stamps. :/

25. Where do you keep your change?
In a little mesh purse in my messenger bag. With a ton of hair ties.

26. When was the last time you spoke in front of a large group of people?
That would have been... huh. I don't remember. Must've been last spring, at some point, while I was still in undergrad.

27. What kind of winter coat do you own?
Black wool, knee-length. Also a North Face jacket that needs a new liner (because every Seattle-ite must own a North Face jacket - they check when they do the census, I swear. It's a requirement. Otherwise we lose our hippy geek card).

28. What was the weather like on your graduation day?
Very nice. It clouded up a little, but didn't rain. This counted for both the departmental ceremony I attended, and the main ceremony that I skipped.

29. Do you sleep with the door to your room open or closed?
Open just a bit. Theo's box is no longer in my room (thank all the gods), but his food and water still are, so... good thing my bed is tucked way in the back and off to the side from the door.

Date: 2006-09-29 03:55 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] tonsai.livejournal.com
hooray for friday! i missed a job interview due to a miscommunication last month -- it really sucked, and i didn't even get another chance (despite it being promised to me), so...it happens. and it sucks. but sometimes people are just dicks.

hey, give me a call sometime, my number is 206-465-3188. i'd still like to try and do coffee or something, maybe saturday afternoon?

Date: 2006-09-29 04:37 pm (UTC)
ext_18428: (not paid enough)
From: [identity profile] rivendellrose.livejournal.com
Hooray for Friday, indeed. I know, it does happen, I just get irked by how often it seems to happen. And this girl emailed me just yesterday confirming, so it's not like she could have been that confused. She didn't even say anything about being late when she arrived. :P

Awesome! I don't have my phone with me today (argh, early mornings = forgetting things), but I'll give you a ring sometime this evening or tomorrow so we can organize. It'd be great to see you again!

Date: 2006-09-29 04:58 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] maho-kiwi.livejournal.com
heheheheheh
I just took that meme. But I understood that it was a two-word meme, in that all your answers had to be two word sentences? Maybe there are two versions going around.
LIKE COLD STRAINS

Date: 2006-09-29 05:01 pm (UTC)
ext_18428: (harry + clam = <3)
From: [identity profile] rivendellrose.livejournal.com
....Nope, I'm just dumb. *Headdesk* And I also forgot to credit that I snagged it from you. Blaaaaaaargh I am out of it this morning!

ThankgoditsFriday, seriously.

Date: 2006-09-29 05:09 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] maho-kiwi.livejournal.com
ehehehehe ^^a
nawww, I totally blame "early"
and man, I'm impressed you had that many words. I was sort of thankful for the two-word part. I'm not exactly...verbose...early in the morning.

It feels like monday to me. WHY

Date: 2006-09-29 05:13 pm (UTC)
ext_18428: (Default)
From: [identity profile] rivendellrose.livejournal.com
Weeeeeeellllll, our internet does this uber special thing sometimes where it won't let me get into anything that's vaguely associated with Microsoft. Which includes Hotmail (obviously), but less obviously also includes ALL NEWSPAPERS, it seems. So... my only entertainment on days like this is LJ, NPR, and reading the headlines on sites like Fark.com, because I can't read the actual articles. Because the net won't pull them up. So I get reeeeeaaaally chatty on days like today. Because there's nothing else to do.

...Not that I don't love LJ, but I can only write so many posts before someone will want to kill me. So excessively long answers to memes (and comments apparently...) are my answer.

Me too. Because the universe hates us.

Date: 2006-09-29 05:24 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] maho-kiwi.livejournal.com
ouch ._< that's no fun. Very...very special of it, yes...

And man, I totally understand. There are days where I'll post...and post..and post because dear god if noone will talk to me I'll just talk to hear/see MY OWN WORDS because it's better than nothing! :D

I even get half days on Friday. But it's draaaaaaagging.

Date: 2006-09-29 05:28 pm (UTC)
ext_18428: (oops)
From: [identity profile] rivendellrose.livejournal.com
Yeah. I've been trying to figure this out ever since I started here... still haven't come up with a good explanation.

Exactly. I mean... people in my office will talk to me sometimes, but only the ones I want to strangle they have work to do.

Wah. I want a half day. *Pouts* There will be wine this afternoon, but I'm honestly of the opinion that I'd rather just leave.

Date: 2006-09-29 05:39 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] maho-kiwi.livejournal.com
is it maybe some sort of blocking attempt? Like maybe once upon a time they had a problem with employees not working so they tried to block hotmail, only they hit all of microsoft? And then it didn't really work so it only blocks some of the time or something...

Yeah, the people in my office are pretty chatty but. you know...sports stuff. Some stoner band stuff. Not things I'm good at holding long conversations about.

heh, well, I work 9 hour days the rest of the week, so the half day on friday is really just me getting in those last four hours. ^^;;

Date: 2006-09-29 05:44 pm (UTC)
ext_18428: (Default)
From: [identity profile] rivendellrose.livejournal.com
I doubt it... the VP uses Hotmail sometimes, and the whole office uses MSN messenger for quick communication. Besides, I can't imagine a blocking program would be this inept - sometimes I can access everything just fine, and then some days.... nothing. Just error messages. I used to think it was because MSN was down, but then I realized I'd go home and it would be fine.

Exactly. Ours is more with the golf, skiing, football, wine.... things that kind of make me go "blah." A couple of the younger people like stuff I like, but they tend to be the ones who are busy with serious work. :P

Aha! That makes sense. I still think the standard work week should be taken down to 35 hours, personally... I appreciate the extra money, but I hate that so much of my life is taken up by work. Bleck.

Date: 2006-09-29 06:14 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] maho-kiwi.livejournal.com
ah hmm...well then. I guess it's just awesome! >->

Right...but you don't want to be that unfriendly loner one (it's the problem I got into at Horrible Dog Grooming School, where they just decided I wasn't nice, because I didn't want to talk about dumb highschool things, or underage drinking ><)

Yeah, that'd be...nice. If you assume most people are awake maybe 14-15 hours a day, with 8 of those at work, and anywhere from 1-3 hours of commute on either side (if you're in the city, and lucky) and maybe 30min-1hr getting ready for work/bed that leaves...what? 2 hours of free time? and somewhere in there you have to cook and eat dinner. Yeah...less time at work...nice.

Date: 2006-09-29 06:21 pm (UTC)
ext_18428: (eowyn)
From: [identity profile] rivendellrose.livejournal.com
Yeah, it rocks. *Gags*

Exactly. And I'm so totally spoiled, 'cause I could have all sorts of conversations with my old coworkers at CSS. We chatted about the news stories on NPR, about classes, about geeky stuff... hell, one girl and I traded stories about our hometown, 'cause it turned out we'd gone to the same highschool, just something like seven years apart.

Yup. I don't think America will ever go for it, though. 30 hours is the standard in a big portion of Europe, but noooooo Americans are too workaholic. The world would end if everybody wasn't spending at least 40 hours a week at their offices. Thing is, if they cut the standard back to 40, there'd be less unemployment (more people needed to fill all available work-slots), fewer people without insurance ('cause they'd get it at 30 hours, since that would be full-time), and, I suspect, a lot fewer family problems with people trying desperately to remember those people that they live with when they aren't at work.

Or possibly I'm just a cracked-out hippy liberal who hates spending all her time in an office doing nothing. >_>

Date: 2006-09-29 06:22 pm (UTC)
ext_18428: (oops)
From: [identity profile] rivendellrose.livejournal.com
Ahem. "If they cut the standard back to 30." Ye gods, save me from my own crappy typing.

Date: 2006-09-29 06:30 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] maymargaret.livejournal.com
Yay for Friday.
I can think of is instrumental
Firefly?

If you liked the snow white, you must see her baloon dance. It is classic burlesque to french caberet music with baloons. And no judges. And fewer clothes.

Goal for tonight: get to contra on time, think we can manage?

Date: 2006-09-29 06:38 pm (UTC)
ext_18428: (eowyn)
From: [identity profile] rivendellrose.livejournal.com
o_O I'm brainless. Yes, of course, Firefly! ♥

Sounds good to me!

I'm shooting for it, yup. Just to warn, I'm probably going to be snarly and not wanting to talk this evening - I've been irritable all week, so it's probably best for me to just plug my headphones in and read on the bus to contra. I've been tripping into a lot of little "leave me in my own little world or I will bite your head off" moods, randomly. Probably has something to do with more people in the house, now, on top of my usual neurotic need for space.

Profile

rivendellrose: (Default)
rivendellrose

January 2026

S M T W T F S
     123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 12:39 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios