rivendellrose: (Halloween)
[personal profile] rivendellrose
After all the fuss and excitement about Halloween, you wouldn't think I'd be able to forget that after Halloween comes the beginning of a new month as well as a season/year. I guess I'm just not used to my holidays lining up with everyday reality. :P Either way, I'm lucky that this morning's bus-driver didn't seem to notice (or at least care) that my pass was for last month. I'll have to get a new one this afternoon.

Last night was a fabulous (if quiet) Samhain. I helped [livejournal.com profile] maymargaret to make white-fish and mussel chowder, which we ate with fresh-out-of-the-oven oat bread and hard cider, and all the candles I could find in the center of the table. It's good for me to live with other pagans - I remember to do the little things that make a difference, like setting aside a plate and a shot glass for the dead, unlocking the doors for a while to let in luck, etc. After dinner, we all settled down and watched the beginning of The Nightmare Before Christmas, and then a few Halloween-oriented Buffy episodes. Then it was downstairs for me, a quick prayer and some getting used to my new runes, and bed.

I did not appear to have any particularly impressive or prophetic dreams last night. I never know whether to be pleased or disappointed by that. I love the feeling of the dreams that hit with a metaphysical force, but on Samhain there's an element of 'you asked for it,' I suspect. And as I am a well-trained pagan, I accept that asking for such things is usually a bad idea.

And even if the rest of the world doesn't agree that November 1 is the start of winter, at least one institution agrees with me.... coffee shops. Tully's is already advertising their Christmas-y drinks, and I am sooo very weak versus peppermint. I'm looking forward to trying that out soon. Maybe I can snuggle myself into one of their fireside chairs today or tomorrow, and do some writing. After all, it's also the season for NaNoWriMo... and I woke up too late this morning to get anything started yet. What a way to start the marathon. The rest of the Halloween fics will be coming, I promise, I'm just a teeeeeensy bit behind in my schedule!

Oh, and a Happy Day of the Dead/Dia de los Muertos to those who celebrate! ...And please forgive if I've butchered the Spanish.

Date: 2006-11-01 08:16 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] maymargaret.livejournal.com
Well as far as the bus card goes, I did exactly the same thing. Bon Toussaint.

Date: 2006-11-01 09:05 pm (UTC)
ext_18428: (water pistol)
From: [identity profile] rivendellrose.livejournal.com
Bon Toussaint!

It just boggles me that I can be so all over the thought of Halloween... even remember the rent thing... and yet forget the bus-pass. I think it's because I still subconsciously think I have a U-Pass, you know? *Sighs*

Date: 2006-11-02 08:19 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] capnexposition.livejournal.com
When I saw you yesterday I meant to wish you a happy Dia de los Muertos, but was feeling sick and cranky. So..happy Dia de los Muertos!

Date: 2006-11-02 08:25 pm (UTC)
ext_18428: (eowyn)
From: [identity profile] rivendellrose.livejournal.com
Thanks! Happy Dia de los Muertos to you, as well!

Did you end up getting where you were trying to go? A bus finally showed up a while after you left and ferried those of us waiting for the 44 over to the other side of 15th (just past the Safeway in Ballard)... where we waited while a bus-driver took got some dinner and took his break, then finally let us on and finished the route. So despite getting off work at 4:30, I got home ten minutes past the usual time for me to arrive back at the house. *Sighs*

Date: 2006-11-02 08:43 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] capnexposition.livejournal.com
Yes, actually. It was practically the perfect bus for my purposes. And my sympathies on the bus driver thing. Seattle Metro is one of the most lackluster public transportation systems I have encountered in my travels. It makes me realy embarrassed to think of outsiders coming here and trying to do much of anything via public transport.

Date: 2006-11-02 09:00 pm (UTC)
ext_18428: (Default)
From: [identity profile] rivendellrose.livejournal.com
*Shrugs* I think people make too big a deal of the problems with the Seattle system - I really don't have any significant issues with it. Occasional inconvenience is nothing compared to the joy I take in not needing to have a car.

Profile

rivendellrose: (Default)
rivendellrose

January 2026

S M T W T F S
     123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 04:10 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios