rivendellrose: (BOOM)
[personal profile] rivendellrose
So, I think I've explained that when I first tried to watch BSG a few years ago, [livejournal.com profile] maymargaret and I basically decided that we'd better stop before it got a) so good that we couldn't stop, and b) so painful for the characters that we'd desperately want to.

I just got to the 12th episode of season 1, and I think we've officially passed the point that I'd been fearing back then. I kind of want to stop - in the sense that in the episode prior to the last one we watched, I wanted very badly to put everybody in a box right as they were right then and never let them change. It teetered on the edge there for a while... and then spilled right over into "oh god, things will never ever ever be happy again, will they?"



1.09: Tigh Me Up, Tigh Me Down

Wow, I'd sort of been feeling badly for Tigh's wife every time we got one of those bits with him burning holes in her picture and crumpling it up and everything and, um, now, not so much. She's a crazy lady. I must admit, I cackled madly at some of her antics (poor Lee... poor, poor Lee...), but, um, wow. Scary woman. I agree with Lee that they're in more trouble now that she's (theoretically) not a Cylon (more on this later as it becomes Very Much The Case), although, of course, as Six points out, everybody passes Gaius' little Cylon test, and we never see the actual results, so... who knows? Maybe she is one. I think it's more likely she's just bugfuck, myself.

1.10: The Hand of God

In which Gaius figures out (again...) that it's a Very Bad Idea to piss off the crazy girlfriend in his head. The number of times he will "figure this out," even over the 12 episodes I have seen so far, looks to be exponential. I fully expect him never to actually remember this for more than 24 hours at a stretch, the stupid bastard.

This may (I think?) have been the episode where Starbuck walks in on him having sex with thin air. It may have been another episode, too, but I feel the need to point it out as I was laughing so hard I couldn't breathe.

Starbuck's plan works! And she and Roslin hug, and I may possibly have shipped them just a bit at that moment. And it is fantastic! And oh, there's the Apollo theme that I recognize, and I was not really expecting it so early! And adorable moments of father/son bonding!

1.11: Colonial Day

So, the DVD synopses are absolutely spoilery, so I knew Roslin would pick someone "unexpected" as her running mate, and had pegged Gaius as the most horrifying (and therefore likely) candidate. Besides, Six was having too much fun moving him around like the little chess-piece he is, and it seemed likely that getting him to be vice-president would be the goal of that. Nonetheless, I was on absolute eggshells through the election, unable to stand the thought of Zareck (Zarrett? Something like that?) being Roslin's VP. And Tigh's wife! Don't tell me if I'm wrong or right about this, but I am sure that she's the one who killed the guy they were holding. Absolutely sure of it. If she didn't actually hold the broken glass in her hand, she surely was the one who orchestrated it and ARGH. It is unacceptable to ruin everything just because Adama won't sleep with you, lady!

And then there's the payoff on the adorable-ness of Starbuck and Apollo lately with the beautiful dress and the showing-off and the dancing, and everyone's happy, and Roslin and Adama are dancing, and this moment, I want to freeze it and put it in a box and never ever ever let it change. Right here. Everyone is happy, and it makes me happy, and... and then, of course, Terrible Things. Because Helo's seen the Other!Boomer and put two and two together (smart boy), and POOR SHARON, OH MY GOD.

1.12: Kobol's Last Gleaming, pt 1

Yes, we did stop in the middle of a two-parter, and you have no idea how much strength of will (and exhaustion) that required. Especially because hooooooly hell, this was a bit of a doozie. Let's see. Starbuck DEFINITELY has a thing going for Lee and has had the akwardest moment in EVER by calling Gaius by his name (Gaius deserves a bit of this, but I still kind of went "eep" anyway, mostly because now he has blackmail material against her... which he of course immediately begins to use), and Boomer-on-the-ship (hereafter known as Boomer, since the one on Caprica can easily be called Sharon) tries to eat her gun and ends up shooting out the side of her cheek (oh god, oh god, oh god), and I don't know why the hell Lee is being so pissy with Starbuck unless he had a thing for her, too - that's the only possible explanation and makes the whole thing just that teeny bit more gutting, and now Starbuck knows that Adama lied about Earth and she's off running back to Caprica against orders (...er, from him, at least - on orders from Roslin, and that's just AWKWARD), and... yeah. I think that about covers all the horrible details that make me wish we could just stop before things get worse. But we can't, of course, because we're both so utterly sucked in now that we can't actually stop. AAAAAHHHHHHHHH.

Damned evil really really good shows with really really horrible angst.

Date: 2010-09-28 09:13 pm (UTC)
ext_23722: (Default)
From: [identity profile] ariastar.livejournal.com
Ahahahahaha. Haha.

Tigh's wife is Ellen! ELLEN IS NUTS. Watch this space. :D

Roslin's political opponent's name is Tom Zarek! Fun trivia: the actor who plays Zarek was Apollo in the original 1970s BSG. I get a big kick out of every time Zarek and Lee are onscreen together.

Re: Starbuck in the beautiful dress, y'know the slightly gobsmacked look Apollo has on his face when he first sees her? Yeah, that's how I looked too. Oh Kara, how so gorgeous. <3

Date: 2010-09-29 09:27 pm (UTC)
ext_18428: (*glee*)
From: [identity profile] rivendellrose.livejournal.com
Ellen - okay! I was having a hard time, because half the time it sounded like people were saying "Ellen," but the other half I thought maybe they were saying "Helen," and I didn't dare go look it up for fear of the big bad spoilers. :P Anyway, yes, she's a craaaaaaaaaaaazy lady, and I sort of look forward to seeing more of her bizarre antics.

the actor who plays Zarek was Apollo in the original 1970s BSG. I get a big kick out of every time Zarek and Lee are onscreen together.

LOL. That's a whole new level to the weird rivalry dynamic between them. Oh, that's lovely. ♥

Yeah, that's how I looked too. Oh Kara, how so gorgeous. <3

God, me too. Sooooo preeeeeeeettyyyyyyyyyy. ♥

Date: 2010-09-28 09:26 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] darthparadox.livejournal.com
You're going to enjoy episode 13.

Date: 2010-09-28 09:55 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] kungfuwaynewho.livejournal.com
BILL ADAMA DOESN'T KNOW WHERE EARTH IS! I fucking love Ellen Tigh.

Ugh, Kobol's Last Gleaming 1 and 2 are perfect television. Absolutely perfect. This is the point in the series where Ron and David just told Bear, "Go for it, dude." And boy, did he go or what.

Okay, you have to stop reading the DVD synopses. There are a few later on that inexplicably spoil THE ENTIRE EPISODE. So just...do not read them. Do not even glance at them. They are awful and evil.

Seriously, though, Hand of God through Resurrection Ship II, which is 2x12, is just about the most stunning run of episodes I've ever seen on TV. You are in for a ride.

Date: 2010-09-29 09:29 pm (UTC)
ext_18428: (BOOM)
From: [identity profile] rivendellrose.livejournal.com
LOL. She's so CRAZY! I mean, not like "whee, butterflies!" but like "WOO, I'm going to DANCE ON THE TABLES, and then KILL YOU!" ...Maybe not that last bit, but I so totally would not be surprised if she did. Seriously.

Okay, you have to stop reading the DVD synopses.

No kidding! I figured it wouldn't hurt - they couldn't possibly spoil things that badly! But - they do! On almost every episode! And on the ones they don't, they're just plain wrong! o_O

You are in for a ride.

You're telling me. We finished S1 last night. And immediately looked at each other and basically started plotting how quickly we could get hold of a copy of S2.

Date: 2010-09-28 10:06 pm (UTC)
icepixie: ([BSG] Adama/Roslin sweet)
From: [personal profile] icepixie
Ahahahaha. Hee. I am busy laughing my ass off at *counts* four separate things in this post. Two more than others.

"Colonial Day" is one of my favorite episodes! But I am a hardcore Papadama/Roslin shipper, so. I also love both parts of "Kobol's Last Gleaming," and I am damn glad I only saw the second part the week before S2 started, rather than the months and months people watching S1 in real time had to wait.

Date: 2010-09-29 09:30 pm (UTC)
ext_18428: (BOOM)
From: [identity profile] rivendellrose.livejournal.com
I am damn glad I only saw the second part the week before S2 started, rather than the months and months people watching S1 in real time had to wait.

Noooooooo kidding. Wow. Just finished S1 last night, and... yeah. Yeah. Need S2 NOW. o_O

Date: 2010-09-29 12:09 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] websandwhiskers.livejournal.com
Oh, it gets so much better. And worse.

Date: 2010-09-29 09:30 pm (UTC)
ext_18428: (*glee*)
From: [identity profile] rivendellrose.livejournal.com
Exactly the impression I'm getting. Can't wait!

Profile

rivendellrose: (Default)
rivendellrose

January 2026

S M T W T F S
     123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 05:44 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios