adventures in bureacracy forthcoming
Oct. 8th, 2010 02:29 pmI have to go to the Department of Licensing tomorrow to get them to a) change my address, and b) renew my license. I cannot renew online because naturally the address they have on file for me is... quite old. What can I say? I don't drive. It's not like I need to keep the blasted thing updated all the time when it's only getting used to prove my identity at the airport or my legal right to an alcoholic beverage at one of the few remaining restaurants or bars that actually believes me to be under the age of thirty.
(Random Digression of the Moment: Fandom reflexes, I has them. Just overheard a coworker say "Cylons, it's a cylon!" (referring apparently to an image another coworker was looking at? Unless he was talking about his computer...), and immediately grabbed my headphones, jammed them onto my head, and turned the CD I'm on back to its most consistently loud and sound-canceling track. Just in case. I'm having a hard enough time avoiding spoilers lately without my coworkers getting in on the action. :P)
Annnnyway, the need to go do the red-tape-and-bureaucracy thing has been complicated by the fact that apparently Seattle's budget is currently so dire that only one of the department offices in the city limits is open on Saturdays, it's the least convenient for me, and it's only open half a day. Yeah, that won't be busy as all hell. Plus, it's in a part of the city I do not particularly relish going to even under good circumstances, so... yeah. Fortunately, we're going to Bellevue tomorrow anyway, so I found the office there and figured out how to get to it, and am hoping that the suburbs will be a little easier to deal with. Especially if we go first thing in the morning.
Seriously - the office I went to last time this happened, near my old apartment, is now closed on all but 2 days of the week. And even then during business hours of course. And you need an appointment. W.T.F., people.
This time I promise to be good about keeping my address up to date so I can renew online the next time this happens. Because this is just plain absurd.
Moral: Think of The Boy and I tomorrow morning when you're all enjoying a quiet Saturday lie-in, because we'll be taking the bus across the city so that we can sit in a dingy lobby for a few hours and get grumped at by cranky civil servants. Oh yeah. Thank god I have the new Bill Bryon book to get me through the time.
(Random Digression of the Moment: Fandom reflexes, I has them. Just overheard a coworker say "Cylons, it's a cylon!" (referring apparently to an image another coworker was looking at? Unless he was talking about his computer...), and immediately grabbed my headphones, jammed them onto my head, and turned the CD I'm on back to its most consistently loud and sound-canceling track. Just in case. I'm having a hard enough time avoiding spoilers lately without my coworkers getting in on the action. :P)
Annnnyway, the need to go do the red-tape-and-bureaucracy thing has been complicated by the fact that apparently Seattle's budget is currently so dire that only one of the department offices in the city limits is open on Saturdays, it's the least convenient for me, and it's only open half a day. Yeah, that won't be busy as all hell. Plus, it's in a part of the city I do not particularly relish going to even under good circumstances, so... yeah. Fortunately, we're going to Bellevue tomorrow anyway, so I found the office there and figured out how to get to it, and am hoping that the suburbs will be a little easier to deal with. Especially if we go first thing in the morning.
Seriously - the office I went to last time this happened, near my old apartment, is now closed on all but 2 days of the week. And even then during business hours of course. And you need an appointment. W.T.F., people.
This time I promise to be good about keeping my address up to date so I can renew online the next time this happens. Because this is just plain absurd.
Moral: Think of The Boy and I tomorrow morning when you're all enjoying a quiet Saturday lie-in, because we'll be taking the bus across the city so that we can sit in a dingy lobby for a few hours and get grumped at by cranky civil servants. Oh yeah. Thank god I have the new Bill Bryon book to get me through the time.
no subject
Date: 2010-10-08 10:55 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2010-10-08 10:57 pm (UTC)I so much adore all his books. He's the best writer I've ever read for mixing really good information and highly amusing style and anecdotes. ♥
no subject
Date: 2010-10-08 10:59 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2010-10-08 11:04 pm (UTC)If you haven't read Bryson's "Life and Times of the Thunderbolt Kid," I really recommend that one, too. It's his book on growing up in Iowa in the 50s, and it's awesome.
no subject
Date: 2010-10-08 11:17 pm (UTC)Wow, I totally failed at replying to the right comment earlier.
no subject
Date: 2010-10-08 11:23 pm (UTC)...Now I hide those books if I find them shelved in the archaeology section, but that's just academic spite.
Eh, it's Friday. I'm theoretically working, but... it's too much of a Friday for me to really function on more than a "hmm, code... code... code.... butterflies!" kind of level. :P
no subject
Date: 2010-10-08 11:31 pm (UTC)My dad picked me this one up because he just saw "Pyramids" in the title, so I'm kind of contractually obligated to read it. It's amusing. I'm like, "LOL, no," every other page.
no subject
Date: 2010-10-08 11:35 pm (UTC)And, hell, it's still fun stories. If you're into the cryptozoology stuff, you should totally listen to MonsterTalk. (http://www.skeptic.com/podcasts/monstertalk/) Done by Skeptic magazine, so they're on the "reality" side, but they're all like us - read TONS about it as kids, then suddenly realized it was crap, but still loved to talk about it and hear the stories and all. The episodes are a bit hit or miss sometimes (depends a lot on the guest they've got) but they can be really fun.
...And yeah, I sympathize. My dad got me "The DaVinci Code" and "Angels and Demons" a few years ago. Because I'm into history. I didn't quite have the heart to tell him that the fact that I'm into real history means that I know those books are total tripe. :P
no subject
Date: 2010-10-09 01:50 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2010-10-09 01:56 am (UTC)Oh well, I want to read it, so I guess I don't have to buy it for me now.
Is there a book that you want that you don't have so that I can replace At Home for you?
When is a good time to get together?
no subject
Date: 2010-10-10 10:15 pm (UTC)I don't know about another book - I kind of keep buying whatever I find that I really want (bookstores - I have no self-control).
Ummmm, as for a time to get together, I don't know! When are you free? I think we're free all week except Thursday night, since that's the night we're going out to dinner (Fridays are too busy at the place we wanted to go to). What day is good for you?