rivendellrose: (six)
[personal profile] rivendellrose
The weekend was mad mad madness, due in large part to The Boy and I going out on Friday night to meet up with a friend of his from work and a number of her friends... which, because said friend and friends-of-friend were so fun and entertaining, turned into "drinking more in one night than the two of us usually drink in a week." This was not my best idea ever. Nor his. Especially not when tequila became involved. Tequila = bad. We both know this when sober... much like we both know that 2 mixed drinks or cocktails is plenty for each of us... when we're sober. Unfortunately, when we're both not sober we become a little less clear on the issue.

To make a long and drunken story short, by Saturday morning we both had the worst hangovers of our lives. I can't help noticing that every time I have a hangover is a new benchmark in the "worst hangover of my life" sweepstakes. You really would think I'd learn to just never again have more than 2 drinks in one night, but so far I seem to have a thing where after 2 drinks the part of my brain that says "no, that's enough" just disappears, or is drowned, or something. Still, this hangover was definitely the worst, because when I hauled myself out of bed to get ready for my dad and stepmom to come over that afternoon (yes, really, and yes, it did occur to me that I really should have been more sensible the night before with that coming on)... we had no running water. None. Not just hot water - no running water. I call the leasing office, they say "oh, we're so sorry, there was an emergency in the boiler room, there's someone working on it, but it could be as much as 5 hours or more, we really don't know."

I admit - I did briefly think "this is what comes of not lighting candles or setting out the altar the last few holidays."

It all worked out eventually, and we have both officially Learned Our Lessons at least for the next six months (that being how long it's been, approximately, since the last time I swore I'd learned my lesson). Saturday afternoon was nice, if quiet, and lunch and walkings were had with Dad and Stepmom, followed by dinner and quiet TV watching (nothing that would hurt our heads) at home with The Boy. Sunday we were back to normal, cleaned the apartment, ran errands, and cooked a nice dinner. And of course, per Sunday night tradition, there was more BSG. And it was a doozie.


Some of these were actually watched late last week, I just got lazy about my episode reviews. So, let's see how much I can get out in the next ten minutes?

The Passage

I seriously thought they were going to kill Sharon, here, in the first five minutes (and let me tell you, I was horrified), but by halfway through I'd realized, no, I was wrong, they were going to kill Kat. Which they did. Poor Kat! Very well-handled, though (exactly what I would expect from a great like Jane Espenson.)

The Eye of Jupiter

I admit, I had a moment of total Classics-student-fail in the previous episode, where for a brief moment I attempted to tell The Boy that "cow-eyed was an epithet of Athena while my poor little hind-brain, desperate to use all that knowledge from years and years ago, shouted "no, HERA! Cow-eyed HERA!" Which of course turned out to be the truth. Nice to know they're still paying some attention to the classical references... even though they inexplicably renamed Zeus to Jupiter here. Whatever. Love Gaius freaking out over whether he's a Cylon, love D'Anna/Three being all "DESTINY!!" and... both of them leaving Caprica behind? STUPID decision, guys. Caprica loves you, yes, but she is the scariest of all the Cylons by far, IMHO. That woman is not someone to be trifled with.

Rapture

In which D'Anna/Three looks on the face of God (or at least the 5 remaining Cylons) and is blinded by their glory and then killed for her blasphemy, or something, but only after saying "I'm so sorry, I had no idea" to one of them to convince us absolutely that yes, someone on BSG is a Cylon. Someone other than Sharon, that is. The Boy and I spent a few fruitless minutes trying to remember who specifically D'Anna might have wronged, but we couldn't come up with anything, so we gave up.

Also, in which Tyrol tells us that he used to dance naked with porn mags in his mother's holiest-of-holies prayer room. Hilarious mental image. ♥

Also, holy shit, Adama didn't even know that Sharon and Helo's baby was still alive. Holy shit, you guys. He didn't lie, because Roslin never told him. And Sharon didn't go completely bugfuck when he told her, and neither did Helo, except OH MY GOD FOR THE KILLING AND THE SHOOTING AND THE HORRIBLE. OH MY GOD. "Well!" says The Boy as I sit there staring blankly, reminding myself that no, it's okay, because she's coming back, but OH MY GOD.

And then Boomer, who has clearly lost her flipping little Cylon mind is all "I SHOULD JUST KILL HER" about Hera, and poor Sharon, and... yes, I told them it was a bad idea to scorn Caprica! Because she is the most bad-ass of all Cylons. And now she's on Galactica! I can't wait for her to up and rescue Gaius!

And D'Anna gets boxed! o_O No more D'Anna! What will we do? Who shall be snarky and nasty for us now?

...Well, Cavil, presumably. He's good at that. But it won't be the same!

Taking a Break from All Your Worries

In the opening sequence for this one there was a fabulous shot of Roslin advancing very menacingly, pointing her finger and shouting. "Wonder what causes that" I said. "Airlock!" quoth The boy. And it was so. ♥

Gaius's little "I'm a Cylon so everything's okay!" dream while he hanged himself was so lovely and perfect and hilariously awful. If it'd happened to anyone else, I'd have been horrified, but... it's Gaius, so I laughed my head off.

Besides, by the end of the episode, I was hoping we could just stick Kara and Lee in the resurrection tub and drown them, too. Seriously, guys? Seriously? I thought we were over this shit. And Lee, you don't get to whine about marriage to Tyrol. You just don't. You know why? Because your marriage is a LIE, and you're a BAD PERSON. And don't even start to look smug, Kara, because you're worse. That's it, I swear, I am so done with both of you.

...Except to point out that The Boy thinks they are totally setting us up to believe that Kara's a Cylon, and I say that there's no way we would think that because Leoben wouldn't care about her if she was a Cylon. Although apparently they don't necessarily recognize the final 5 models, so... maybe that argument doesn't carry any water after all. I don't even know.

Moral of the story: You guys, Helo and Sharon both survived the reveal that Hera's still alive and they got her back safely to Galactica! Everything's going to be okay!

...Ohshit, the next episode is "The Woman King." Forget I said that last bit. *Headdesk*

Also: Gaius totally told Gaeta he's a Cylon, didn't he? He did. He totally did. Oh, poor Gaeta. Don't listen to the mean, crazy Gaius. He's crazy, he doesn't know! He didn't even know if he was a Cylon until just recently, and even now that decision is pretty much provisional. So it's okay!

...Yeah, forget I said that last bit, too.

Top list of people most likely to be Cylons at the moment: Gaeta and D.

Date: 2010-10-25 10:08 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] deborah-judge.livejournal.com
Also, in which Tyrol tells us that he used to dance naked with porn mags in his mother's holiest-of-holies prayer room. Hilarious mental image.

Yes, it's awesome. I can so see it, and it immediately put him up two notches on my 'like' list.

And D'Anna gets boxed! o_O No more D'Anna! What will we do?

Yeah. That hurt. She's not easy to like, but she is so fun to watch. Besides, what a sad end to a glorious Six-D'anna-Baltar threesome!

And speaking of sad ends: Kat. I miss her.

Although apparently they don't necessarily recognize the final 5 models,

I found that moment of D'anna's apology to one of the fifth to be really powerful. I do wonder what she thinks she (or the rest of the Cylons) would have done differently had she known or suspected.

The next few episodes might be a bit of a slog, but let me reassure you now that it does get better - or at least more interesting - by the end of the season.

Date: 2010-10-25 10:27 pm (UTC)
ext_18428: (fierce)
From: [identity profile] rivendellrose.livejournal.com
it immediately put him up two notches on my 'like' list.

Me too. Tyrol's always been one of the characters that I like, but don't exactly have a whole lot of feeling for. This might have changed that. ;)

Yeah. That hurt. She's not easy to like, but she is so fun to watch. Besides, what a sad end to a glorious Six-D'anna-Baltar threesome!

Exactly! She's kind of horrible in a lot of ways, but god what a fabulous character, and what a joy watching Lucy Lawless play her in all her cut-throat selfish glory. ♥

Kat. I miss her.

Me too.

I found that moment of D'anna's apology to one of the fifth to be really powerful. I do wonder what she thinks she (or the rest of the Cylons) would have done differently had she known or suspected.

It really is a fantastic moment, and I suspect it'll be even more powerful and interesting when I know who she was talking to - at the moment, all I can do is guess, and I'm trying not to do that too much because it's pretty clear there's going to be a lot of red herrings before we get there. As for what they would have done... that's one of the most fascinating things about this show, to me. We just keep getting situations where it's like "well, if x had known y at the time, of course it would have been totally different!" But that's life! If we all know everything that would inform our decisions, the whole world would go differently. That's part of what makes this show so lovely and painfully realistic, I think.

The next few episodes might be a bit of a slog, but let me reassure you now that it does get better - or at least more interesting - by the end of the season.

Nrgh. Yeah, I've been warned about "The Woman King," and also that this season has the same slump in the middle as the previous one did, so... I'm sort of prepared? As prepared as possible, at least.

The "at least more interesting" still makes me nervous, though. "Interesting" in this show tends to mean "oh god, oh god, why are they hurting characters I love?!" more often than not. Ah well. That's part of why I love it, I guess. I'll have to remind myself of that next time I want to curl up and take a week off from the show. ;)

Date: 2010-10-25 11:11 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] deborah-judge.livejournal.com
Yeah, it's probably not a spoiler to say that further horrible things are going to happen to characters you love. ;) Sigh. Well, if you didn't want that, you'd be watching a different show.

If it helps, for most bad things that happen to most characters there's fix-it fic in fandom.

Date: 2010-10-25 11:21 pm (UTC)
ext_18428: (six)
From: [identity profile] rivendellrose.livejournal.com
Yeah, it's probably not a spoiler to say that further horrible things are going to happen to characters you love. ;) Sigh. Well, if you didn't want that, you'd be watching a different show.

This is why it took me so long to get around to watching it... After getting through the miniseries and the first three episodes a few years ago, [livejournal.com profile] maymargaret and I mutually decided we didn't really want to watch everyone suffer as much as we anticipated they would. Particularly since, even that early, I had developed an unnatural attachment to both Helo and Boomer/Sharon.

If it helps, for most bad things that happen to most characters there's fix-it fic in fandom.

I'm crossing my fingers that whatever happens to my favorites will be in both of those "most" categories. ;)

And seriously, I've never been through a series where I so much appreciated the support-group aspect of LJ fandom. It's just intense.

Date: 2010-10-26 02:35 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] deborah-judge.livejournal.com
I don't think I could watch TV at all without fandom, which gives me the strength to know that whatever we see on screen, and whatever the writer intended, there's always a different story going on in the background and a different way of reading it.

Date: 2010-10-26 01:38 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] kungfuwaynewho.livejournal.com
The episode was originally called "The Eye of Zeus," and that was still the name when they filmed the first half; you can see how they always cut around any reference to the Eye of Jupiter since the actors had to dub over saying Zeus. I know it says in the commentary why they changed it, but I can't remember. I suspect it was something like 'the eye of Jupiter sounded cooler.' I know that they've referenced Roman gods before, though; the only one I can remember off the top of my head was Laura mentioning Mars Day in her New Caprica diaries.

I don't know why I never rewatch the S3 midseason finale/premiere episodes as much as I rewatch some of the other big epic arcs; I like those episodes and think they're good, I just always tend to skip them. So I haven't actually watched them in about two years. I do remember loving how authentically in pain Katee seemed with the hands; those were some really well-done scenes between Starbuck and Dualla.

Date: 2010-10-26 06:09 am (UTC)
icepixie: ([BSG] Nothing but the rain)
From: [personal profile] icepixie
I was quite sad about Kat's death, even though she was a pill. She was a pill who stood up to Starbuck, so she had my admiration. ;)

Oof, you're getting to the part of the season I just wanted to fast-forward through, because I wanted BALTAR'S TRIAL, DAMMIT, and they kept not giving it to me week after week after week. And there was more with the Love Quadrangle of Doom, which always put me in a bad mood.

(Well, okay, 3.15 is one of my favorites, and 3.16 was pretty good too, IIRC. But so much of the back half of this season made me antsy as hell.)

As for D'Anna...I would suggest that "boxed" does not necessarily mean "dead." But I'm pretty sure you knew that already, given all the hints they dropped. ;)

I say that there's no way we would think that because Leoben wouldn't care about her if she was a Cylon. Although apparently they don't necessarily recognize the final 5 models, so... maybe that argument doesn't carry any water after all.

Well, Leoben is BUGFUCK INSANE, even for a Cylon. Or at least I always thought so. So there's that too, though I'm not sure whose side it supports...

Sharon getting Helo to kill her so she could resurrect on the Cylon ship and rescue Hera is still one the most vivid images I remember from the show. That was incredible.

Profile

rivendellrose: (Default)
rivendellrose

January 2026

S M T W T F S
     123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 27th, 2026 10:01 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios