rivendellrose: (omgwtf)
[personal profile] rivendellrose
Spoilers. OMG spoilers.

What. The Shit. Was That.

Okay, so, this episode really, deeply confused me. Because there were moments, like Wilf tracking down the Doctor via his amazing pensioner's network and John Simm being John Simm, and David Tennant being an awesome actor in his scene with Bernard Cribbins in the little pub/cafe thing, where for brief moments I could see the show I like.

And then there was the rest of the episode, in which I was staring blankly at the screen wondering who the fuck took my show and replaced it with a pile of shit, and then I remembered, oh yeah, that'd be Russell Davies.

What the shit was up with the majority of this episode? Why do we suddenly have a bunch of women reenacting the resurrection of Dracula or something, and Lucy spouting some bizarre melodrama and getting blown up after seemingly stopping the Master from being reborn out of her lipstick, which actually didn't do anything at all to stop him from being reborn (again, I must point out, out of her lipstick)? Why do we have a black guy who is evil (again), and a black girl who is totally fricking psycho, both for no apparent reason? Why were all the Master's supposed acolytes women? Why is it that the Master is suddenly gorging on food like something out of a bad horror movie, and why (why, why, why) are we suddenly having a return to creepy zombie!Master? Except glowing? At least last time he didn't glow? Why can the Master suddenly shoot power out of his fingers, and why is he able to rocket into the sky by doing that? Why is he suddenly so freaking psychotic (so much more so than ever before), and why, by all that's holy, did I actually briefly believe Russell Davies when he said he was going to have character interaction in this? Why must the Doctor think that people have to be special somehow, when the old Doctor, the one I knew and loved, liked people because they were people? Why does whoever did the green peoples' makeup have a job doing makeup for a TV show when s/he obviously can't figure out how to hide a seam on a latex job worth shit, and why did s/he not tell the actress playing the green girl not to furrow her brow so god damned much because it makes the already-obvious seam on her makeup stand out in high relief so that no one could possibly ignore it? Why did we have so much focus on Obama? Why couldn't they have left actual living figures out like they've always done in the past, and why did they have to do that exceptionally cheesy, completely ludicrous and pointless thing with the Master turning everyone on Earth into himself when there's no way in hell that would be something that the Master would ever want, because he wants to be The Master of everything, not the same as everyone else. Why in the name of all that's good would he want that? What the hell is that supposed to do? Why, for the first time in the history of Doctor Who, do we have a narrator? What the hell?

There are so fucking many mysteries about this fucking episode that I can't even begin to write them all down. But the biggest, most fucking bizarre and confusing mystery, for me, is why at the end of the episode, when the Narrator turned out, as I'd suspected, to be a Time Lord and it turned out that the Time Lords are coming back, did I cheer? This is not good. There is no way, after this beginning, that this can be good. I spent the whole episode hoping - praying, begging - that it would change and become good, that it would redeem itself, but that one thing does not fix everything. I am so happy that the Time Lords are back - I really am!!! - but given how everything else about this episode turned to shit, I have a hideous feeling that next week is going to be no different, and that I'm going to wish by the end of this that I didn't know what a Time Lord was, or at least that I'd never sat down to watch this fricking episode.

I want to go back and watch classic Who now, and make myself feel better. But it's late, and I stayed up to watch that stupid drivel, and now I'm tired. GAH.

Edited to add: Why, dear god why, do we not get any female Time Lords at all in that shot of the Time Lords? Why? Because RTD hates us. Or at least hates me. And what is up with the of-course-she's-evil-this-is-RTD-we're-talking-about middle-age-TV-woman who kept harassing Wilf?

Date: 2009-12-26 04:56 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] zinjadu.livejournal.com
Okay, I need to watch this, just to laugh at the stupid! XD

Date: 2009-12-27 06:35 pm (UTC)
ext_18428: (oh hai thar)
From: [identity profile] rivendellrose.livejournal.com
Yeah, there's definitely plenty of stupid to laugh at. :P

Date: 2009-12-26 06:45 pm (UTC)
ext_23531: (Default)
From: [identity profile] akashasheiress.livejournal.com
Much as I love the Time Lords, I'm really scared of what RTD will do to them. He'll probably have the Doctor having to kill them all again because they so ZOMG!Evil and meeeen to the poor Doctor. Also, I'm utterly terrified that President Timothy Dalton will turn out to be Romana. You know RTD would consider it to so subversive and kewl.D:

Date: 2009-12-26 10:07 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] beam-oflight.livejournal.com
God that would be terrible! If they are bringing the Timelords back I want AT LEAST a cameo of Romana though, preferably by Lalla Ward...

Date: 2009-12-27 06:36 pm (UTC)
ext_18428: (feeling blue)
From: [identity profile] rivendellrose.livejournal.com
Same here. Just a teeny tiny pre-regeneration cameo? A few lines, that's all I'm asking... ♥

Date: 2009-12-26 07:14 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] windrose.livejournal.com
I haven't seen it yet, as all my Dr Who sources have dried up and blown away. :(

Date: 2009-12-27 06:37 pm (UTC)
ext_18428: (tenth doctor)
From: [identity profile] rivendellrose.livejournal.com
Have you tried [livejournal.com profile] tennant_love? Someone there might be able to help you...

Date: 2009-12-27 07:11 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] windrose.livejournal.com
Yes, I do see what you mean. Thank you for the suggestion. :)

Date: 2009-12-26 10:05 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] beam-oflight.livejournal.com
My hope is Wilf is a fob watched Timelord (Chronotis (sp?) maybe) and TV-lady is Romana, who is trying to sort everything out with out the Doc getting in the way, because he isn't allowed to know the Timelords are back, and Timothy Dalton is just standing in as president/leader of the senete in star wars while she is setting teh universe to rights. Some how I think this is not the case. But it would mean Donna could cope with the meta crisis maybe which would be good. and I am glad the Timelords are back, but if we don't see a female one soon I will not be responsible for my actions regarding RTD.

but yeah most of the episode was spent going WTF is going on????

Date: 2009-12-27 06:39 pm (UTC)
ext_18428: (Dalek is in trouble)
From: [identity profile] rivendellrose.livejournal.com
Oh! Wilf as Chronotis would be perfect!!! ♥

I am glad the Timelords are back, but if we don't see a female one soon I will not be responsible for my actions regarding RTD.

Me too. :P

Date: 2009-12-29 05:41 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] bluerosefairy.livejournal.com
AUGH I KNOW.

I swear to God, I do not trust him not to fuck up the Time Lords. I like Dalton as Borusa/Braxiatel/whoever, and I am seriously hoping Wilf or Donna turns out to be a Time Lord, but WHERE ARE THE NON-EVIL (OR EVIL, I'm really not picky) TIME LADIES? We have so few of them - Romana, Flavia, and the Rani are the only named ones, right? - and they are potentially amazing if used correctly. Or you could just make up new ones, as long as they're just as awesome as the Time Lords.

(Although, having looked at that shot again, there's one person with their hands covering their face that could, potentially, be a woman. It's not helping my ranting.)

Date: 2010-01-01 02:46 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] alto2.livejournal.com
I pretty much agree with everything you say here (have only just posted my own reactions, and am catching up on everyone else's late as a result). Your tag remains entirely apt. I would like for someone to ensure that Rusty never gets to come anywhere near a DW script ever again--or that if he does, Moffat rewrites the hell out of the damn thing before it goes anywhere near a camera.

Profile

rivendellrose: (Default)
rivendellrose

January 2026

S M T W T F S
     123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 12:56 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios